Thursday, February 6, 2014

The Léonie Sonning Music Foundation

Eight out of this year's ten scholarship recipients are associated with The Royal Danish Academy of Music
On 10th May the clarinetist Martin Fröst will receive The Sonning Music Award 2014 of DKK 600,000.  Every year the Music Foundation hands out scholarships for the same amount to young Scandinavian music talents.  The scholarships cannot be applied for, but are handed out by the board of the Music Foundation.

On 3rd February 2014 ten young musicians were given DKK 60,000 each and eight of these are former or present students at the Royal Danish Academy of Music. The eight musicians are: Benedikte Damgaard, violin, Berit Sørensen, horn, Erik Kolind, organ, Kasper Rofelt, composer, Lise Davidsen, soprano, Maria Steinaa, flute, Oscar Micaelsson, pianist, organist and composer and Pernille Sejlund, composer and singer.  The year's other award recipients are Antina Hugosson, baroque violin and Jeppe Zeeberg, pianist, composer and orchestra manager.

In connection with receiving the award Martin Fröst will give a master class for RDAM students on Thursday 8th May.  The master class is open to the public.  Time and place will be announced in RDAM's calendar.

Read more on the homepage of Léonie Sonning Music Foundation.