Hans Abrahamsen

Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Hans Abrahamsen wins The Grawemeyer Award 2016

Composer and RDAM teacher was awarded the American music prize of $100,000

Associate professor at The Royal Danish Academy of Music Hans Abrahamsen was awarded the prestigious American prize "The Grawemeyer Award 2016" of $100,000. Hans Abrahamsen won the music award for his work "Let Me Tell You" which was commissioned by the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. The work premiered in 2013 with the Berlin Philharmonic conducted by Andris Nelsons and featured soprano Barbara Hannigan, to whom the work is dedicated.

The Grawemeyer Awards consists of five annual prizes given in the fields of music, political science, psychology, education and religion.

Previous winners of The Grawemeyer Award for Music Composition are, among others, György Ligeti  Toru Takemitsu, Thomas Adès, Kaija Saariaho, and Wolfgang Rihm.

Read more about Hans Abrahamsen

Read more about The Grawemeyer Awards