Martin Stauning

Friday, May 5, 2017

Martin Stauning awarded Carl Prize 2017

RDAM composer has received the Carl Prize 2017 for his composition "Îles en Mer d’Argent"

RDAM composer Martin Stauning was awarded the Carl Prize 2017 for best classical composition for a small ensemble. The Carl Prizes are awarded by the Danish Music Publishers’ Association, and the prize is named after the Danish composer Carl Nielsen.

The composition "“Îles en Mer d’Argent" was part of the programme at Martin Stauning’s debut concert in October 2017 at The Royal Danish Academy of Music. The debut concert was reviewed in the Danish newspaper Politiken, describing Stauning as "one of the most interesting young composers at the moment."

Martin Stauning (b. 1982) studied composition at The Royal Danish Academy of Music with Hans Abrahamsen, Bent Sørensen and Niels Rosing-Schow.

Read more about Martin Stauning

Read more about the Carl Prize 2017