Uffe Savery

Monday, April 8, 2019

New President at the Royal Danish Academy of Music

Press Release from the Danish Ministry of Culture

Minister for Culture, Mette Bock, has appointed Music Director, musician and academy alumni Uffe Savery as the new President of the Royal Danish Academy of Music. Uffe Savery replaces President Bertel Krarup who is retiring as of 31 May, 2019.

Announcement by Minister of Culture Mette Bock:
"In Uffe Savery, the Royal Danish Academy of Music gains a president who has been a student at the academy himself, and who has obtained first-hand knowledge of the world that awaits after graduation. Uffe Savery combines his artistic qualities with an entrepreneurial and development-oriented leadership profile, and I believe he can develop the Royal Danish Academy of Music's influence on music life and maintain the high quality that the Academy is known for.”

Announcement by Uffe Savery, future President of the Royal Danish Academy of Music:
“The Academy occupies a genuinely exciting and crucial position in Danish and international music life; a platform from which the institution has great effect on how children and adolescents relate to music and music performance. At the same time, the Academy has a significant influence on education and the overall development of the music life of tomorrow. As President of the Academy, my calling will be to develop and shape music life from this position."

From percussion duo to Music Director
Uffe Savery is educated in Percussion, Music Pedagogy and graduated from the soloist class at the Royal Danish Academy of Music in 1992, and has as well taught at the Academy until 2000. In addition, Savery was co-founder of the percussion duo, Safri Duo, who has and still enjoys great success on the international classical as well as rhythmic music scene.

Since 2010, Uffe Savery has been Music Director for Copenhagen Phil where he has worked to strengthen the orchestra's identity and legitimacy as well as ensuring the institution's influence and position in Danish music life.

Vice President Niels Rosing-Schow will be acting President in June and July until Uffe Savery enters the position on August 1, 2019.

For more information, please contact:
Press Office of The Ministry of Culture: +45 22 76 51 16