Toke Møldrup

Assistant Professor, Cello, Strings
Cellist Toke Møldrup, born in 1980, received Queen Ingrid’s Honorary Award for his achievements on the Danish music scene in 2014.

For two decades he has performed all over the world at venues such as the Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall, the Wigmore Hall, Vienna’s Musikverein and the Berlin Konzerthaus. A frequent guest at Danish music societies, Møldrup has performed as a soloist with Danish and international symphony orchestras under conductors such as Aldo Ceccato, Sanntu Rouvali, Lan Shui and Joshua Weilerstein, and at festivals such as Bergen International Festival, Lincoln International Chamber Music Festival, Monte-Carlo Spring Arts Festival and Oberstdorf Music Summer.

To make more time for his busy solo concert and teaching schedule Møldrup is on a 2-year leave (2018-2020) from his position as principal cellist of the Copenhagen Philharmonic. Since 2005 he has been teaching at the Royal Danish Academy of Music where he was a student of his mentors, professors Morten Zeuthen and Tim Frederiksen. A graduate of the Hochschule für Musik, Karlsruhe, with professor Martin Ostertag, he has studied privately and at master classes with capacities such as Valter Despálj, Hans Jensen, Ralph Kirschbaum and Yo-Yo Ma. Another important influence is The Alban Berg Quartet with whom he studied as a part of the Paizo Quartet, winner of the Grand Prize at The Melbourne International Chamber Music Competition in 2003. He has recently formed the Svanekegaarden International Cello Masterclass with the aim to pass on this knowledge and experience to the next generations.

Toke Møldrup plays a David Tecchler cello (Rome, 1697) courtesy of the Augustinus Foundation. He is currently a receipient of the Augustinus Foundation Jubilee Grant 2018-2020.

Award-winning students:

Josefine Opsahl:
2nd prize Svirel International Music Competition 2014

Jonathan Swensen:
1st prize Danish String Competition 2016
1st Prize Aram Khatchaturian Int. Cello Competition 2018
1st prize Young Concert Artists international competition 2017
Semifinalist International Tchaikovsky competition 2019